Only 289 Days To Go…

Here I Come

I found out about the Baylor in New York program when I was a freshman. The moment I heard about it, I went back to my dorm and looked up the program online. I downloaded the application to my desktop, read over it, and there it sat for the next two years until I would finally apply.

The program was spectacular. Spend a whole semester in NYC with a Baylor professor while interning. Internships in the past have been at places like Madison Square Garden, CBS, MTV, VH1 and many other huge companies. I knew I wanted to apply to go in the Spring of 2012 – my last semester of college. Lots of the Baylor interns in the past have been hired and are now living in New York. Many aren’t, but I know my chances would be greater if they knew I’d be graduating in May.

I sent my application in on February 4. The very last day you could turn it in. I don’t know why, like I said I’ve had the application downloaded for two years. I think I was scared. I wanted it so badly, what if I didn’t get in? I had been dreaming about what that semester could be like, and I couldn’t bear the thought of getting rejected.

To top it all off, I spelled the professor’s name wrong in the greeting in the e-mail. I was mortified. But, I added lots of extra things here and there on the application and I was certain my essay was stellar. Dr. Kickasola e-mailed me back saying thank you for the interest and announcements would come in March.

So, flash forward to spring break. It was March 8 around 8:45 a.m. My dad called to ask if I wanted to go to lunch, so naturally because I was awake and on my iPhone I checked Facebook. I saw a status from a friend saying she had gotten accepted into the program. I sat up in bed so fast I made my dog jump, took a deep breath and checked my e-mail. I only had one…I touched the mail icon…and there it was.

I don’t know what happened next, if I screamed or if I just sat in silence, I really don’t remember. I called my dad back and told him the news and then I called my mom. “GUESS WHAT?! I’M GOING TO NEW YORK!” I also might have danced around my room that morning to “Empire State of Mind.”

At random times of the day when I’m feeling stressed out, or when I’m sitting in class absolutely bored out of my mind it hits me again. I’ll be in New York this time next year.

I can’t wait.

But what I’ve told a lot of people is I also can wait, because once I’m there it’ll mean I’m in my last semester of college. It’s a scary thought, but man. What a way to kick start “the real world” life.

I plan on keeping up with this blog religiously once I’m there, but like I said. I can’t wait. So every now and then I’ll blog about stuff related to NY. There’s still LOOOOTS to do! I have to find an internship now…ahhh! I’ll keep you posted.

Only 289 days to go…

-A

Leave a Reply

